DON KAMMER SAYS 100 DONATIONS IS ‘MY SMALL CONTRIBUTION’ TO HELPING OTHERS

don-kammer-100-ltdCongratulations are in order for Miamisburg donor Don Kammer who made his milestone 100th lifetime blood donation Sept. 30 at the Dayton Community Blood Center.  Don said, “I get reminders!” from CBC when he is eligible to donate again, but the secret to reaching the milestone has been his dedication to helping save lives.

Don started the journey to his 100th donation while working at Wright Patterson Air Force Base. “I went off to the Army for active duty for two years,” he said. “When I came back I became a civilian employee at the base. I donated when I worked at the base.”

He’s been a loyal donor at the Dayton CBC for more than 20 years.  “I sometimes would donate at Our Lady of the Rosary in North Dayton,” he said. “I still sing in the choir at Our Lady of the Rosary.” Don is now retired from a career in data automation. His wife Kathleen works at St. Francis of Assisi Parish. They have three children and five grandchildren.

“I just feel like I can help my fellow man and woman when they could use my blood,” he said. “I’m healthy. I can do it. It’s the least that I can do to help the community. This is my small contribution.”

Leave a Reply

